artist image
© Leah Baculalay

Koen De Cauter, Fapy Lafertin & Rony Verbiest


Old Friends Old Songs
Three maestros in search of songs and music that influenced their youth.

Youthful friends Koen De Cauter and Fapy Lafertin founded the famous Waso Quartet in 1975, putting the music of Django Reinhardt in the spotlight again. For years they each went their own way and developed into true grandmasters.

Koen - now as a guitarist - continued with the Waso Quartet and found a new colleague in Rony Verbiest. Saxophonist Rony Verbiest has been playing accordion since his childhood and plays, besides saxophone, also clarinet, bandoneon and harmonica. Fapy Lafertin founded his own band and toured the world with countless 'big names' in the jazz world and became one of the world's foremost guitarists in the Gypsy swing tradition. Meanwhile, saxophonist, guitarist and singer Koen De Cauter immersed himself in a wide range of genres. Koen has been “on the road” regularly with Fapy for the last 20 years and also continued to work a lot with Rony in different bands and projects.

And now at last, the three masters form an ensemble together for the very first time: Old Friends - Old Songs. They went in search of songs from their youth, that influenced them, and perform them in their unique and personal way: chanson, jazz, musette, Latin, ... and even sometimes a 'golden oldie'. The rhythm section is composed of two sons of Koen: Waso and Dajo who, after more than a quarter of a century on stage, form a very experienced combo.

Information & Ticketing
Thu 17-01-2019 20:00 • De Centrale - Gent • TicketEvent Soldout
Fri 18-01-2019 20:30 • La Ruche Théâtre - Charleroi • TicketEvent
Sat 19-01-2019 20:00 • Rataplan - Antwerpen • TicketEvent Soldout
Sat 26-01-2019 20:00 • Eglise Saint-Pierre Liberchies (CC de Pont-à-Celles) - Liberchies • Event
Wed 30-01-2019 20:30 • CC Het Bolwerk - Vilvoorde • TicketEvent Soldout

Koen De Cauter: vocals, guitar, soprano saxophone
Fapy Lafertin: guitar
Rony Verbiest: accordion
Dajo De Cauter: double bass
Waso De Cauter: guitar